If there’s a hit of revolution in the air then a new GAIKA project arrives just in time to lead it. The Brixton MC GAIKA isn’t the type to be boxed in either. Since the release of his debut mixtape Machine in 2015, critics have struggled to label his music and art. His dark, yet magnetic sound evolved through his following releases, including the 2018 EP The Spectacular Empire on Warp Records.

GAIKA shape-shifts across genres, but has settled on the term ‘ghetto-futurism’ to encompass what he does, deeming it easier than waiting for the latest “dancehall-meets-rave” label and allowing him to build on afro-futurism to make art steeped in blackness that “harks back.”

“‘Ghetto’ isn’t just to do with black people, but it’s all the people who live under the boot, the 99%, and how we end up reveling in what other people deem the shadow.”

Seguridad is Gaika’s upcoming EP, created whilst on tour in Puerto Escondido, will be released via Mexican label N.A.A.F.I. The EP features productions from several NAAFI family members in the likes of Lao, Zutzut, TAYHANA, Wasted Fates, OMAAR and Lechuga Zafiro. Seguridad is a fusion of Dancehall, Trap, Grime and deconstructed club scapes created during a tour of Mexico. It’s GAIKA’s world – we’re just living in it.

Gaika (Carhartt)

▚ Tracklist 
01. Of Saints feat. TAYHANA
02. Maria feat. OMAAR
03. Lord Zemel feat. Lechuga Zafiro
04. Brutal feat. Zutzut
05. Kingdom of Slums feat. Lao
06. Iron Cut feat. Wasted Fates
07. Wolfish feat. Lao
08. Nine Nights feat. OMAAR

NAAFI vydá album Seguridad 3. júla 2020  ▄  Zdroj: Johanna Urbancik / 3feethi

Pridaj komentár

Vaša e-mailová adresa nebude zverejnená. Vyžadované polia sú označené *